Loading map...

Castle Braid

114 Troutman Street, Brooklyn, NY, 11206
Rental Building in Bushwick
144 Units | 5 Floors | Built in 2006

Building Amenities

Elevator1 Elevator(1)
Gym1 Gym
Roof deck1 Roof Deck

Subway

M
Central Ave

1 min walk, 0.15 miles

J
M
Z
Myrtle Ave

5 min walk, 0.41 miles

J
Kosciuszko St

4 min walk, 0.39 miles

L
Morgan Ave

6 min walk, 0.49 miles

M
Knickerbocker Ave

3 min walk, 0.33 miles

Building Reviews (4)

Anonymous1

Anonymous

May 10, 2018

Tenant:

Cons:

Apart from being a sort of "Artist Land" ala Epcot, Disney World, I actually thought the apartments themselves were nice and well done, thus began my epic Castle Braid nightmare. Promised a rent of $3300.00 for a two bedroom two bath apartment, with W/D hookup (no washer/dryer) and access to a first come first served parking lot, I diligently went through their rigorous, and somewhat random "qualification process." They demanded a $500.00 deposit, which I never saw again. After much drama about bank statements (apparently in Israel where the owners are located the words "preferred rewards" on a checking account makes it suspect) they approved me then gave me a RIDICULOUS lease to sign. Among other things like "no parking" when they said I would have parking, they said the "real rent" was actually over $1000.00 per month (!) which means at any time at end of lease they can jack my rent up that much!!! I declined, but they kept the "deposit" VERY SHADY PEOPLE.

Anonymous1

Anonymous

Nov 28, 2017

Tenant:

Cons:

Honestly, speaking from the perspective of a real estate agent who deals with management companies all day every day, I have to say, the management at this company is the most incompetent I've ever seen. From start to finish it has been a war with them. I did not live at 114 Troutman, I lived in one of their walk-ups down the road at 819 Willoughby Ave. The application process took almost TWO WEEKS from start to finish because the owners of the company live in Israel and so every time we needed to submit more material we needed to wait on the owners to wake up in Israel, would receive a response around 10 o clock in the morning our time, and then reply immediately and still not hear back until the next day. Finally, after approval, we moved in and we discovered our radiator was leaking water all over the hardwood floors, we asked for someone to come fix it so our floor didn't get damaged, 5 times, never once was the radiator fixed and the floors are wrecked around the radiator as a result. No necessary repairs were ever made. In addition, they charged an outrageous flat flee for building heat of 100 dollars a month for our unit. Thinking this was a bit high considering our cooking gas was a separate charge, I inquired to see the gas bill for our building and see if that was a fair flat fee for every unit in our building to be paying, and never received a single response from management regarding that outrageous fee. So, I'm fairly confident that management was giving themselves a massive profit on the gas bill. At one point, management made an error on our invoice bill, we paid the balance listed on our invoice as we did every month, and then got a late payment notification from management's accounts payable, turned out they had made an error on the invoice, corrected it, never sent us the corrected invoice and then charged us a late fee when we paid the wrong amount, and was unwavering in the extra 100 dollars in late fees they were trying to charge us, for their error. They bookended this lovely experience by offering us a renewal which we took, as none of us felt like dealing with the expense of moving at the time, only to be asked for updated financial information AFTER BEING OFFERED THE RENEWAL, even though we had a flawless payment history, excluding the late payment on the invoice that they screwed up. This led to them deciding that we weren't qualified for the apartment anymore, even though we had a year of good and timely payment, and asked us to leave in 30 days. They are incompetent, non-communicative, and rude. Did I even mention that I had to do a "Russia Investigation" style inquiry to even figure out the number to call to speak to them, since no one seemed to know what their office number was. Finally found it and they weren't even aware that our lease was coming to an end and we needed to renew in the first place. I mean seriously? Don't live in buildings owned by these people, their over priced, and they do literally nothing. They cash their check and ignore phone calls, and they collect extra rent from their already ridiculous rates through massive upcharges on the utilities they don't let you switch to your name. Good bye, CastleBraid, and good riddance.

Anonymous1

Anonymous

Dec 23, 2015

Tenant:

Pros:

I think this is a great building to live in. However in order to keep this review useful I will focus less on my opinion and simply relay some of the observable facts:- The staff, both management and supers, is always friendly and I get the feeling that they actually care about this place. They decorate the whole place for the major holidays with lights and signs and while I probably often fail to pause and appreciate it, it does say something when a Jewish landlord takes time and effort to hang up Christmas lights and big signs that say Merry Christmas. Also, when there was a bigger issue with all elevators this fall (due to NYC laws) the board asked for rent reduction for everyone as a compensation for the extra hassle and the next month our rent was lowered accordingly. These are all little things but together they add up to a lot. - the supers are really super. Whenever we have had an issue inside our unit, they have been quick to help and follow up. It's obvious that they have worked in this building for years and they know pretty much anything that needs fixing so they don't fumble around. They come in, fix it, and leave. - the apartment units are well above standard for NYC. Big windows make the rooms feel bright and even bigger than they are. - management seems to have a good sense of business, keeping costs reasonable. For example, instead of having 24H door man which would add cost to everyone's rent, they have a mail room where USPS, FedEx etc can access and leave packages, and then every night from 8pm to 3am someone is there to hand out packages. This is a brilliant compromise which gives me what I need in terms of hassle free package delivery. - one of the three elevators has been out of service for more than a year now and I see no indication of progress. I'm not sure if this is just the new normal or if this will be fixed. I understand that if it is beyond repair, that it's probably quite expensive to completely replace it after the building has been built and day to day this is only a very minor inconvenience. - depending on which floor you live you can experience quite different people. On some floors it seems to be early 20s party town with a constant smell of we... I mean...weekend... Late night parties with loud music etc while on our floor it seems to be super chill adults with professional careers. This is probably the case in any large apartment complex. - the roof and courtyard are amazing. The gym is decent. You may or may not like the artsy decorations around the building but it certainly makes the place feel different from any other apartment building I have ever seen. - we are a family of four with two babies. The hallways were an unexpected gift for us: our son loves to go running up and down whenever he has excess energy and we don't have time to go outside. - we have live here for two years now and just renewed for a third year.

Anonymous1

Anonymous

Sep 17, 2015

Tenant:

Cons:

It is an interesting mix of housing and art space. I've lived here for over a year and will probably not stay past my lease. I don't like that there are so many people around at all hours of the day, especially so many people that don't actually live here. It makes the shared living areas very dirty and no one really has any regard for keeping it clean or respectable since most of the people here each day don't actually live here. It is an interesting concept, and could work if the building was smaller and people were more respectful of the space.